signs during pregnancy, post-natal and newborn care etc. Each pregnant women receives an information and health kit known as Badhai Kit. The turnover of the clients for institutional delivery is not equated with the number of expected mothers attended the God Bharai Ceremony. However, this event has immense value for the franchise ever since the event started.

Hospital Accreditation:The hospital accreditation program was started in the year 2005. It is the flagship program for NABH. This program was started with an intent to improve healthcare quality and patient safety at public and private hospitals, has subsequently grown to greater heights, with the standards being recognized internationally at par with other global healthcare accreditation standards and accredited by ISQua (International Society for Quality Assurance in Healthcare). The accreditation standards for hospitals focuses on patient safety and quality of the delivery of services by the hospitals in a changing healthcare environment.

Ten chapters of Hospital Standards are:

  1. Access, Assessment and Continuity of Care (AAC)
  2. Care of Patients (COP)
  3. Management of Medication (MOM)
  4. Patient Rights and Education (PRE)
  5. Hospital Infection Control (HIC)
  6. Patient Safety and Quality Improvement (PSQ)
  7. Responsibilities of Management (ROM)
  8. Facilities Management and Safety (FMS)
  9. Human Resource Management (HRM)
  10. Information Management System (IMS)

Benefits of Accreditation

a) Patients are the biggest beneficiary as implementation of accreditation standards ensures Patient safety, commitment to quality care resulting in good clinical outcomes.
b) Improves patient satisfaction and increases community confidence as services are provided by credentialed medical staff.
c) Accreditation status provides good marketing advantage in the competitive healthcare.
d) The HCO standards has been accredited by ISQua giving the accreditation an international recognition which will boost medical tourism
e) Accreditation provides an objective system of empanelment by insurance and other third parties

Who can apply?

Healthcare organization (HCO) that fulfills the following requirements:
a)Currently in operation as a healthcare provider, should be above 50 sanctioned beds as hospitals below 50 sanctioned beds will come under SHCO standards.
b)The organization that commits to comply with NABH standards and applicable legal/statutory/regulatory requirements.
c)These standards are to be used by the whole organisation and not for a specific service within the organisation. Organisations may have different services and it is equally applicable to all services and in both public and private hospitals.

Scroll to top